Efficient Dual-Site Carbon Monoxide Electro-Catalysts via Interfacial Nano-Engineering

Funding Source

National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities, National Institutes of Health, National Basic Research Program of China (973 Program)

Grant Number

8UL1GM118967, 5G12MD007595, 2G12MD007595-06, 2011CBA00508


Department of Chemistry

Document Type


Publication Date



Durable, highly efficient, and economic sound electrocatalysts for CO electrooxidation (COE) are the emerging key for wide variety of energy solutions, especially fuel cells and rechargeable metal-air batteries. Herein, we report the novel system of nickel-aluminum double layered hydroxide (NiAl-LDH) nanoplates on carbon nanotubes (CNTs) network. The formulation of such complexes system was to be induced through the assistance of gold nanoparticles in order to form dual-metal active sites so as to create a extended Au/NiO two phase zone. Bis (trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide (NTf2) anion of ionic liquid electrolyte was selected to enhance the CO/O2 adsorption and to facilitate electro-catalyzed oxidation of Ni (OH)2 to NiOOH by increasing the electrophilicity of catalytic interface. The resulting neutral catalytic system exhibited ultra-high electrocatalytic activity and stability for CO electrooxidation than commercial and other reported precious metal catalysts. The turnover frequency (TOF) of the LDH-Au/CNTs COE catalyst was much higher than the previous reported other similar electrocatalysts, even close to the activity of solid-gas chemical catalysts at high temperature. Moreover, in the long-term durability testing, the negligible variation of current density remains exsisting after 1000 electrochemistry cycles.


DOI: 10.1038/srep33127

PubMed ID: 27650532

Funding text

Z.W. and G.W. would like to acknowledge NIH funding for this work via Grant Number NIH 2G12MD007595-06, NIMHD grant number 5G12MD007595 and NIGMS grant number 8UL1GM118967. And also the support is provided in part by the Louisiana Cancer Research Consortium. X.C. would like to acknowledge the National Basic Research Program of China (No. 2011CBA00508).